Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Resident Advisor Podcast presents Four Tet - RA.102

Resident Advisor Podcast presents Four Tet - RA.102


Four Tet’s Kieran Hebden a DJ? Believe it. Hebden has been holding down a regular gig at The End for a few years now, blending current electronic music with the jazz, post-rock and various other genres that has make up his musical world. Purists take heart: Hebden’s dance music bona fides run deep. His first single, Thirtysixtwentyfive, was released on Trevor Jackson’s Output Recordings and K7 tapped him in 2006 for a DJ Kicks mix.

Like that diverse comp, Hebden’s RA podcast isn’t about clean mixing and keeping genre-splicing to a minimum. Instead, the passion is the thing: Hebden delights in combining a whole host of tracks together into a whirlwind mélange of sound, all leading up to the placid and satisfying denouement that begins with C++’s ‘Angie's Fucked’ and ends with his stunning remix of Born Ruffians’ ‘I Need a Life’. In between those two? ‘Swimmer’, a track from Hebden’s new Four Tet EP, a release that makes clear that this dance music thing is something that Hebden is excited about exploring once again. Welcome back, buddy, it’s good to see you again.


01. Guillaume & the Coutu Dumonts - Ocre - Oslo
02. Martin Buttrich - Stoned Autopilot - Planet E
03. Delia Gonzales and Gavin Russom - Rise (DFA Remix) - DFA
04. Ricardo Villalobos - Enfants (Chants) - Sei Es Drum
05. Plastikman - Kiropraktor - Plus 8
06. Harold Björk - Brus - Traum Schallplatten
07. Hot Chip - No Fit State (Audion Remix) - EMI
08. A Number of Names - Sharevari - Capriccio
09. Alex Smoke - A Moment to Myself - Soma Quality Recordings
10. Aril Brikha - Groove la Chord - Fragile Records
11. X-Ray - Let's Go (Dub Mix) - Transmat
12. Crazy Bald Heards - First Born - On A Tick
13. MJ Cole - Sincere (Dubb 2000) - AM:PM
14. Inner City - Good Life (Mathew Jonson Remix) - KMS
15. Benga - Z - Tempa
16. Lindstrom - Breakfast in Heaven (Arp Remix) - Feedelity
17. Sam Clarence - Sextant Daktari - Remake Music
18. Matt John - Olga Dancekowski - BAR25
19. Thom Yorke - Black Swan (Cristian Vogel Remix) - XL
20. Sound Stream - Love Jam - Sound Stream
21. Nightlife Unlimited - Peaches and Prunes (Ron Hardy Re-Edit 1) - Partehardy Records
22. C++ - Angie's Fucked - Music For Freaks
23. Four Tet - Swimmer - Domino Recording Company Ltd.
24. Born Ruffians - I Need a Life (Four Tet Remix) - Warp


No comments: